I am lucky enough to work for a department that wants me to grow professionally and sends me to SWACUHO. This year it is in Fort Worth and it’s been great so far.

Here is what went down today:

Since I’m a newcomer I went to the Newcomer’s reception and learned the basics of the conference. We met the exec board and the committee chairs. SWACUHO seems likes it has a great group of people working for them and that makes me excited to be a part of this region.

I signed up to be a program moderator and get to moderate the program I was most excited about, so that’s pretty cool. I’m an introvert so that whole networking thing really sucks for me but I think moderating will be a great way to help overcome that.

I went to learn about the case study competition and have decided to compete with a coworker. We finish each other’s… sandwiches so we are gonna kick butt. Did you get that reference? If not, you need to see Frozen. It’s the best movie EVER!!!

There was a cowboy on stilts and a lassoing cowboy and a gold cowboy statue that wasn’t really a statue. I kept forgetting I was in Texas and then someone would show up in a cowboy hat and remind me.

The opening gala was tonight. There was a macaroni and cheese bar, it was delicious.

The exhibitors’s booths opened tonight so I walked around and talked to some people who sell things to universities. Fun fact: there is a company in Fort Worth that cleans mattresses in a truck in 15 minutes. Yep. 15 minutes.

I’m really looking forward to Connecting in Cowtown even more tomorrow.

