First off, I’m writing this from my phone so please forgive me for any mistakes.

I’ve been wanting to write this post for a while and just kept putting it off. But now seems like a great time.

Forgiveness is a hard thing to give. Mostly because you don’t feel that the person asking TRULY deserves your forgiveness, but they do. Seriously, everyone makes mistakes. If someone gets the courage to ask you for forgiveness, they deserve it. (Side bar: there are a few things that I don’t think deserve forgiveness even if they ask for it but that’s a different story.)

Forgiveness goes hand in hand with understanding. I think to truly forgive you have to understand what the other person was feeling at the time and they need to understand how they made you feel. This can be hard because when you are hurt or upset you don’t want to think about it any other way, but it helps.

Recently I’ve made a big change in my life. I have grown as an individual more in the last 2 months than I ever thought I would. And I was able to think back on some things and for the first time was able to forgive someone for something they did to me years ago. They never asked. They never will ask for forgiveness because they have their own demons. But I’ve forgiven them and that’s all that matters. I was able to forgive because I was finally able to look from the outside and see the truth.

Like I said, everyone makes mistakes. You don’t have to let the person back into your life, but not forgiving them doesn’t hurt them. It only hurts you.

