The theme of this summer is moving on up (or down to the basement apartment). I have moved 2.5 times this summer.  I say “.5” because I’m not completely finished moving into my new apartment yet, but almost. There are a few things I have learned from this experience that I thought I would share with the world.

1. Moving is not fun.  There is lots of lifting heavy boxes and going up and down stairs. Did I mention my old apartment is on the 3rd floor of a building with no elevator. No fun.
2. Friends who help you move are awesome. I wouldn’t have been able to do it without my friends. Well I would have but it would have taken me twice as long every time.
3. Moving from a single residence hall room to an apartment has created lots of challenges. Example: There are too many doors and too many places to put things. I feel like I’m going to accumulate junk for no reason other than to fill space.
4. Dump trucks come at 2 in the morning. And they are REALLY loud. So are trains. And cars blasting music. And ambulances.
5. Having 2 of everything is not always a good thing. You run out of space fast.
6. I’m easily scared. Examples: ice machines in freezers dropping ice, people keying into your apartment at 9am for no reason (I still live on a college campus this is semi-normal), random noises from other rooms that just freak me out.

I think that’s all I’ve figured out for now. I’ll try to post a picture after I get all moved in and settled, but knowing me I will probably forget!

Oh well RA Training starts in a couple of weeks. I’m super excited, it’s going to be great!

