I’m taking a seminar class this semester titled “Nonviolent Conflict.”  At first I was nervous thinking that it was going to be a lot of reading and learning about stuff in the past.  Hence I was thinking it was going to be more of a history class than a political science class.  So far I have been wrong!

We watched the movie “Pray the Devil Back to Hell.”  It was about the protests that the women of Liberia did when a war broke out in their country between the government and the warlords.  The protests were huge and got thousands of women together to peacefully show the government and the warlords that they were killing and raping their own people.  They were NOT protecting them.  You can learn more about that here.

Pray The Devil Back To Hell

This got me thinking about how much I complain about stuff going on in my life and in this country, but when compared to the rest of the world we have it easy.  I don’t know if I could do what those women did.  They had been through so much but they didn’t let that stop them. It only made them stronger and more willing to do whatever it took to get Peace in Liberia.

I like to think that if I was in that situation that I would have joined them.  I would have sat there day in and day out asking and praying for peace.  But then I think about what I’m doing right now.  I’m sitting at my computer avoiding homework.  There is so much that I could be doing.  I could be praying for this country.  I could be praying for peace for everyone.  Those women gave up everything they had to help their country and I won’t even give up 10 minutes of my day to help mine.

