I  love my job.  I mean I really love it.  There are parts about it that I can’t stand and that annoy me but the good outweighs the bad in most situations.  Residents moved in yesterday.  That’s always a bittersweet moment.  I’m happy that they are back but I’m sad that the silence of this old building is gone.  I went through Spring Training and it was great! I presented 2 different sessions both of which got positive reviews and then I went to one titled “Avoiding Burnout.”

One of the main problems of a RA is burnout.  They get tired of doing their job and just stop caring.  I’m responsible for this as most 2nd year RAs are.  This is my 3rd year as a RA and like I said I LOVE IT! I want to do this for the rest of my life but there are things that start putting doubt in my head.  Here is a small list:

  • Disrespectful residents
  • Rude guests
  • Room inspections
  • Rounds late at night

Now that I have the negative things out of the way, there are many reasons why I keep doing my job and have a blast at the same time.  Here is that list:

  • Happy residents
  • Successful programs
  • Helping mediate conflicts
  • Introducing strangers and watching them become best friends
  • Watching residents grow educationally and socially
  • Knowing that I have impacted someone, somewhere, in some way.

This job is very rewarding and I hope that I get to do this for the rest of my life.  I know that there are going to be times when I want to quit and give up but I will keep going because in the end it will all be worth it.

