It's true...I break for turtles

 

I’ve always been told that it’s the small things in life that matter the most.  Over the last 2 years I have really learned this.  I’ve realized that just having someone listen when you’ve had a bad day can make everything better.  I’ve also realized that a late night walk on the Big Dam Bridge can put people in a good mood.  The small things really do matter the most.

I have collected turtles since I was 5.  I’ve never had a real one but since I was little if we were driving down the road and I saw a turtle I would yell, “STOP THE CAR! WE HAVE TO SAVE HIM!”  Here in Arkansas some people find it funny to run over turtles, but not me.  I try to save them.  My grandpa would always stop the car and I would get out and move the turtle to the side of the road.  (I always put them on the side they were walking to.  I figure it will make it faster for them.)

When I got my own car I continued to do this.  I even have a license plate cover that says, “I break for turtles.”

I was on my way to Starbucks today and I saw a box turtle on Remington Road…I stopped and moved him to the side.  Then I was driving down I-40 and I saw a car parked on the side of the road, so I moved over.  Then I saw the old man carrying a huge turtle into the grass.  It made my day to see someone else stopping and saving a turtle’s life.

I know people will call me strange but that turtle is thankful because who wants to get run over by an 18-wheeler?

That old man made. my. day.

