I haven’t really been in the Christmas spirit this year.  I don’t know why exactly, but I’m okay with that.  I’ve decorated my tree, I’ve decorated the East Hall Lobby, and I even helped decorate the Commons, but still no spirit has come my way.

My super "girly" but awesome tree.

I threw a Christmas party for my residents hoping that would help me, but it didn’t.  My residents had an amazing time and that’s honestly all that matters.  Yesterday my staff had a little Christmas shindig where we all bought a $1 gift (since we are poor college kids) and did Secret Santa.  I loved spending time with my staff but things that happened yesterday just put me in a bad mood so I couldn’t fully enjoy being there.  I even had my “boyfriend” there to cheer me up.

Ain't he the cutest?

I only have to buy one gift this year, so I can’t even rely on Christmas shopping to get me in the mood.  I know that it’s not the material things that make Christmas, but I don’t know why I’m so negative this year.  My family celebrates Christmas with a dinner at my grandparent’s house, but I really want my mom, sister, brother-in-law, and niece to be there this year.  I know that’s asking too much, but I miss them and haven’t been able to spend Christmas with them in years.  Plus with my sister being pregnant, it’s not an option anyway.

Well, I guess the moral of this story is that I want to have Christmas Spirit, but this year I don’t.  I’m not being a Grinch and just staying away from everything.  I’m trying to get out there and do things that will maybe cause a spark, but I’m getting nothing.  I guess this year Christmas is just going to be another day of the year for me.

